NEW JERSEY SITE REMEDIATION PROFESSIONAL LICENSING BOARD

FINAL

February 1, 2016 Meeting Minutes

4:00 p.m., Public Hearing Room, DEP, Trenton

Board Members:

Present

Jorge Berkowitz
Philip Brilliant (via Teleconference)
Lawra Dodge
Joseph Fallon
Joann Held
Jeffrey Hoffman
Christopher Motta
Mark Pedersen
Kathi Stetser
Peter Strom
Constantine Tsentas
Ira Whitman

Absent

None

Others Present:

Board Secretary Karen Hershey Board Staff Dana Haymes DAG Kimberly Hahn

Proceedings:

- Meeting called to Order at 4:05 by Chairman Pedersen
- Roll Call
- Approval of the Minutes

Minutes of January 4, 2016

Motion to approve the minutes by Connie Tsentas.

Motion seconded by Joe Fallon.

All present voted yes, except Christopher Motta and Ira Whitman whom abstained.

The motion was carried.

• Chairman's Report:

Mark Pedersen noted that he has a plaque for Michael Pisauro to thank him for his time and attention to the Board.

Will take a photograph of the Board when there is a full Board present.

• Secretary's Report:

Karen Hershey has no report.

• Report of the Audit Committee: Philip Brilliant

Five LSRPs have been selected for audit for February 2016.

The audits of four LSRPs have been completed:

```
May 2015 – Rakesh Ganta – 591596
August 2015 – Jeff Kozic -628352
August 2015 - Albert Free – 575600
August 2015 - Chris Arntz – 577035
```

Philip Brilliant provided an update on the audit process in an email to Board members.

Report of the Continuing Education Committee: Lawra Dodge

The Continuing Education Committee has approved six applications for approval of CECS:

- Understanding Indoor Vapor Intrusion Pathway provided by RAM Group of Gannett Fleming, Inc. for 7.5 Technical CECs
- Understanding Basis and Application of EPA's RSLs provided by RAM Group of Gannett Fleming, Inc. for 7 Technical CECs

- The Push and Pull of Site Remediation: Recent Developments, LSRPs in Conflict and Understanding Liability provided by Riker, Danzig, Scherer, Hyland and Perretti, LLP for 3 Regulatory CECs
- Remediation Workshop in Baltimore provided by Environmental Workshops, LLC for 4 Technical CECs
- Remediation Workshop in Parsippany provided by Environmental Workshops, LLC for 4 Technical CECs
- Remediation Workshop in Syracuse provided by Environmental Workshops, LLC for 4 Technical CECs

Lawra Dodge made a motion for approval of the above applications for approval of CECs.

Connie Tsentas seconded the motion.

All Present Voted yes, except Joe Fallon abstained with respect to the Remediation Workshop in Parsippany, and Mark Pedersen abstained with respect to the Push and Pull of Site Remediation.

The motion was carried with respect to all applications for approval of CECs.

• Report of the Finance Committee: Joseph Fallon

The Finance Committee is working with DEP staff to set up a formal budget. The report of the first quarter should be available at the May Board Meeting.

• Report of the Licensure Committee: Ira Whitman

The Board is finishing the renewal cycle for licenses that were issued in 2012 and February 2013. A total of five LSRPs have elected not to renew their licenses, and another five LSRPs have given up their licenses because they have discontinued practicing as LSRPs. There is only one LSRP whose application for license renewal was not approved.

One LSRP whose license expires in March 2016 did not meet his ethics CEC requirements. However, the committee is allowing him to take an ethics course before his license expires and submit a processing fee, which will allow his license to be renewed on time.

The next licensing exam will be given in March 2016. 57 applicants applied to take the exam. Of the applications reviewed so far, three applicants did not qualify to take the examination because they did not meet the educational qualifications for licensure.

Motion to approve the following applicants to take the licensing examination in March 2016:

Julie Acton

Sean Barnes

Eric Baumgarten

Michael Bolen

Gregory Braun

Mark Brenycz

Marianne Brody

Judith Brummer-Jecko

Liliana Cecan

Dawn Defreitas

Tricia Fragale

Robert Fromtling

Scott Jackson

Rachel Jacobsen

Jarrad Kantor

Richard Kurisko

Craig McCarrick

Peter Mortensen

Faron Moser

Michael Murphy

John Pavlik

Kevin Phelan

Nicholas Potkalesky

Alan Uminski

John Weitz

Andrew Zjawn

Roll Call Vote:

Jorge Berkowitz – yes to all

Phil Brilliant – yes to all

Lawra Dodge – yes to all, except abstain with respect to Craig McCarrick

Joe Fallon – yes to all

Joann Held – yes to all

Jeffrey Hoffman – yes to all

Chris Motta – yes to all, except abstain with respect to Gregory Braun

Kathi Stetser – yes to all

Peter Strom – yes to all

Connie Tsentas – yes to all

Ira Whitman – yes to all, except abstain with respect to Sean Barnes

Mark Pedersen – yes to all

The motion was carried with respect to all applicants.

Report of the Outreach Committee: Christopher Motta

The Committee has been working on updating the Board Website. The Committee is also working on scheduling Senator Smith to address the Board.

Report of the Professional Conduct Committee: Jorge Berkowitz

The Committee has developed guidance on issuing penalty amounts for violations.

The Committee will report a recommendation with respect to 004-2014 and 001-2015 at the next Board meeting.

Report of the Rules Committee: Joann Held

The rules were posted on the Board Website and a listserv was sent via the SRRA listserv.

Second Monday Meeting Discussion

Motion by Mark Pedersen to hold a Board meeting on February 16, 2016.

Motion seconded by Joann Held.

All present voted yes.

The motion was carried.

Ongoing Business:

None.

New Business:

Mark Pedersen announced that Karen Hershey will be retiring from state service on March 1, 2016, and will no longer be serving as Board Secretary.

Mark Pedersen made a motion that the title of Board Secretary be changed immediately to Board Executive Director and that the By-Laws be amended to effectuate this change, without any change in the function, responsibility, authority or liability of the position.

Jorge Berkowitz seconded the motion.

Jorge Berkowitz – yes Phil Brilliant – yes Lawra Dodge – yes Joe Fallon – yes Joann Held – yes Jeffrey Hoffman – yes Chris Motta – yes Kathi Stetser – yes Peter Strom – yes Connie Tsentas – yes Ira Whitman – yes Mark Pedersen – yes

The motion was carried.

Ira Whitman expressed concern with the amount of time that the Board is taking to accomplish its work. He would like Board members to consider the processes and how to expedite them.

Mark Pedersen will step down from the Professional Conduct Committee. Jeffrey Hoffman will replace him.

• Public Comments:

Roger Ferguson, representing LSRPA. Thanked Karen for the great work she has done for the Board.

Mr. Faris appeared regarding Trenton Central High School. The building is being demolished, but he cannot find out who the LSRP is. He has noticed that air monitors are only present when demolition is not occurring. The address is 400 Chambers Street, Trenton, NJ. Mr. Ferguson found the site on Dataminer, and will inform Mr. Faris of the names of the LSRPs retained for the site.

Meeting adjourned at 5:39 PM.